Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Create new column and fill data from next rows data

rdaga
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Team,

I am new to alteryx. I am looking for the operation to be done on my data.

I want to create a new column based on the comparison of data with other rows.

For example: If my data set is:

A B C  Date

1 2 3   06/17/2017

1 2 5   06/25/2017

1 2 7   06/29/2017

4 5 9   06/30/2017

I want to create new column for which I will first compare data in Column A and B.

If data in current record is equal to the data in next rows for column A and B (in this case for column A and B, for first row, second and third row matches) then I want to further check for the data in column C which is to be copied in newly created column.

In case of multiple rows with same data for A and B, pick the value of C for the row with the earliest date. 

So I have to create the new column(Forward_C) in which I will have forward values(next rows) of C.

A B C  Date               Forward_C

1 2 3   06/17/2017           5

1 2 5   06/25/2017           7

1 2 7   06/29/2017         <Blank>

4 5 9   06/30/2017         (Compare first column A and B with next rows, if they are equal take value of C in Forward_C)

Please let me know if this operation is possible in Alteryx.

Kindly let me know for further clarifications.

4 REPLIES 4
DultonM
11 - Bolide

Hi @rdaga! I think what you are trying to do is definitely possible in Alteryx, perhaps even in just 2 tools!