Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Create Email List from Email Format Possibilities

jkgeorge89
5 - Atom

Hello community!

I've been working in Alteryx for a few months now and have searched online, videos, previous threads for help with a workflow. Hopefully someone will be able to either offer a suggestion or help me with the issue. 

Objective: take a list of contacts provided (~40k) and dynamically create their email address based on an 'email format'

Data: I have a large data set from numerous different companies which all provide their 'email format'. The issue is there are about 30-50 different combinations of 'first name', 'last name', 'middle name', 'initials', and 'punctuation (".","_","-") that are used within these email formats. Also, the data has some issues with the 'parsed' names and so I've had to rely on the 'full name' and have Alteryx parse it - no problem there. 

Issue: I'm trying to figure out how to read the text 'firstname' and have it pull in the column named 'First Name'. As an example, the data attached first email format is 'first.last@company.com' so if we were trying to write a formula it would be something like:  [First Name], ".", [Last Name].

Workflow: so my thought process was to create a column that would replace the string with the column names associated with them and leave in any punctuation as some formats have them and some don't. The last step would be to read [First Name].[Last Name] (which are the actual header names) and pull in the values associated with the records.