community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.

Create A Letter on Word With Attachments

Meteoroid

I am looking to create a letter/contract that has various different boilerplate language depending on the type of agreement. For example if we are performing X type of work we want the paragraph pertaining to that type of work. I also want it to be able to fill in the name, date, and any other unique aspects of the letter/contract, basically a find and replace similar to a mail merger feature on Word. I am pretty new to Alteryx and am trying to brainstorm the best method to this. 

Bolide

Hello @Brandonzayid,

It sounds like what you are looking to do is build an app that takes in certain parameters and would fill in a template you have built. It could be pretty simple in nature and not require too much prep work to execute. Can you give a bit more detail ont he process and what you are trying to accomplish with the final result?

Meteoroid

Hi @cplewis90 so I am trying to create a letter that goes out to clients. Most of the text is boilerplate information but there are some areas in the text that need to be "searched and replaced" in a sense (i.e. date of engagement, company name, address). Where it kind of gets tricky is, depending on the type of work, there are different boilerplate bodies of text that can be inputted into the letter. I guess the process would be something like this 

I fill out a basic template asking for: 

Company name, address. 

Company contact person name, title 

type of work done

any issues had during the engagement (this would be unique to every job so this would be typed in by whoever is filling out the template and there could be any amount or none at all) 

whoever the signer of the letter is and their staff level from our company.