Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Correlation grouping

nbt1032
8 - Asteroid

I have a large dataset of about 12 million records.  There are 2 factors that I would like to correlate.  Running this correlation on the entire set does work, but I would also like to see the correlation by a field grouping (i.e. State).

Does anyone have some ideas on how this can be done?

Thanks,

Marc.

5 REPLIES 5
JordanB
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @nbt1032

I have attached one potential way you can group by the State field. My example uses cities but you should be able to replicate. 

I used a batch macro and the grouping feature.

Pic 3.png

Best,

Jordan Barker

Solutions Consultant 

nbt1032
8 - Asteroid

Thanks Jordan.  Little above my current skill level, but I am going to work through the file you sent to understand it.   I am an experienced developer, but new to Alteryx.

In my example, I would get a single correlation value.  Can you describe how this workflow would group those by some other factor?

I envisioned a table similar to below.  Would what you are suggesting create this.  I believe it would need to be an iterative process that would go through each state value and run the correlation logic.  I was hoping not to have to build a loop but use some sort of "group by" function.

StateR value

Michigan           

New York.2
Florida.3
Georgia.4
Alabama.5
JordanB
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @nbt1032

The Batch process will process each record one by one that you feed into it, similar to a list.

Once it proceses that first record it will loop back and process the second record (or second city in my example)

You will then end up with a unioned table similar to what you have in you table above.