Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Conversion Error

MM29
5 - Atom

I am new to Alteryx so this might be a lame query. My data field (no. of pieces per pack) has numeric values and some text values such as 'Not Defined' / Not Available' / Unidentified'. I used Select Tool to convert the field from V_String to Double. Then when i use it in Formula to calculate  Price/ Piece, it shows Conversion Error as 'Not defined/ Not Applicable.... not a valid number. Do I convert all Non-numeric data into Null? Is that the right way approach? Thanks.

6 REPLIES 6
paulfound
11 - Bolide

Hi @MM29,

Welcome to the world of Alteryx! 🙂

I think from the sounds of the question, your problem is with the formula tool, if you create a new field, the data type will need to be double, not string for example.

PaulFound_0-1573460989038.png

MM29
5 - Atom

Hi Paul,

Thanks for your prompt response. I am not able to solve it yet. Let me share more details. 

Alteryx defines the field Pack Sizes (Pieces) as V_String. It has number vales (1 to 100) and a few records for which this field is labelled ' Not defined' or 'Not Applicable' or Not Available'. When I use this field to calculate Price/ Piece, the Formula Tools gives an error if I do not change data type for 'Pack Sizes (pieces)' from V_String to Double. So using Select Tool (as in the workflow below), I changed the data type to double.

MM29_0-1573462026315.png

And the data type re-defined below using Select Tool (highlighted above)

MM29_1-1573462086748.png

But it still gives conversion error (as below). 

Conversion errors - Price per Piece.JPG

Hope it explains better. 

Thanks in Advance. 

afv2688
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hello @MM29 ,