Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Contra Workflow

CeesayN
7 - Meteor

Hello everyone,

I am new to Alteryx and with help from some good members of this community, we come up with the below workflow:

clipboard_image_0.png

The intention is to have a workflow which will look for positive and negative numbers which net to zero and remove them from the data if certain conditions are met. For example amount in one of the rows is -10000 and in another row it is 10000

These conditions are that both rows will have:

1. the same business unit code

2. the same location code

3. the same department code

4. the same project code

5. the same PO 2

Is there any chance that someone can help fine tune the attached workflow to do what I want it to do?

Your help will be highly appreciated.

Many thanks

Nuha

9 REPLIES 9
benakesh
12 - Quasar

Hi @CeesayN ,

Please include  input data file  and  sample  expected  output .

JReid
9 - Comet

Will the matches always be 1-1 or could there be 1-n or n-n? 

If it's always 1-1 I'd recommend a batch macro, if it's 1-n or n-n then you may want something a bit more powerful.

CeesayN
7 - Meteor

@JReid 

Thanks for looking at my query and apologies for the late reply, I was off ill yesterday. The matches will not always be 1:1, there will be instances where you have more than one row matching the criteria but I want the offset to happen when the first condition is met.

Regards

Nuha 

CeesayN
7 - Meteor

@JReid 

Sorry, in response to your specific question, I think it is n-n if I understand you well because you do not always know which numbers will be offset against others.

Regards

Nuha

CeesayN
7 - Meteor

@benakesh