Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Comparing data sets

aparna0208
8 - Asteroid

I am trying to build a workflow to compare two data sets(first input is the excel file and other input is connected to a query in database) to see if the account in one data set exists in the other and return the matched and unmatched records. Any suggestions to do this better would be appreciated. I am totally new to Alteryx and in the process of learning things to do more efficiently. Thank you!

8 REPLIES 8
Aguisande
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @aparna0208 

I think a Join will give you what you're looking for.

Take an input data tool and read the excel file, connect it to the L input connector of the Join Tool.

Then grab another one and query the database and connect it to the R input connector of the Join.

Capture.PNG

Then try them to join by account number and you'll get all results in three ways:

- From the L output connector: All records from the L input dataset (the Excel file) that doen't exist on your DB Query

- From the R output connector: All records in the DB Query that doesn't exists in the Excel

- From the J output connector (The middle one): All existing in both datasources. 

Capture2.PNG

This Venn diagrams below the Join tool field config give you an idea of what you're going to get from the outputs (Left UNJOINED, joined and right UNJOINED)

Hope this helps.

aparna0208
8 - Asteroid

This will definitely help as this is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you so much @aguisande

Aguisande
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Great! Anytime @aparna0208 !

ssabapa5
5 - Atom

Hi Aguisande,

Is there any other option to check the two values and trigger an error message or stop the flow, if it is "false"?