Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Combining similar Fields from multiple excel files

varindersra
5 - Atom

Hello Guys,

I am new to the Alteryx. I am looking to combine data from multiple excel files. See Images below. I am basically want to combine Data 1 and Data 2 to get a result same as Combined DATA 1 & 2.

DATA 1                                                                                                   DATA 2

DATA 1.jpg                DATA 2.jpg 

Combined DATA 1 & 2

Combined DATA 1 & 2.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Varinder Singh

7 REPLIES 7
Bob_Blackey
11 - Bolide

Hi Varinder,

Welcome to the wonderful world of Alteryx.

You want to use the JOIN tool to get what you need. You would JOIN on the FIELDS column.  Note that in your output you cannot have two fields with the same name.

Bob_Blackey
11 - Bolide

Hi Varinder,

Welcome to the wonderful world of Alteryx.

You want to use the JOIN tool to get what you need. You would JOIN on the FIELDS column.  Note that in your output you cannot have two fields with the same name (DATA). Within the JOIN tool you can rename one of the fields.

There are quite a few resources available to help you learn how Alteryx works. The Alteryx website has a training section with short videos which I'd review. Also in Alteryx under the menu:

Help | Sample Workflows | Tutorials | Blending Data

there is an example of a join. I would review all the tutorials and as many of the other samples as you can. The best way to learn is do.

Cheers,
Bob

SeanAdams
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey @varindersra

There are 2 parts to your question:

a) How do I read multiple excels at once

b) how do I stitch them together into 1 table.

a) reading multiple Excels