Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Change Workflow to App

Chirag_Gandhi07
8 - Asteroid

Hi everyone,

I need to change my workflow into an app and i'm not sure how to do it. I know I have to use interface tools, but because this is my first time, I need some help. My workflow joins two files, a csv and an xlsx file. I want other users to be able to input their own files into the workflow. Also, I want to add a validation step to check if the files being input are in the correct format. So, I want to specify that the input files must have specific columns to be able to run correctly. I have attached my workflow. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
ivoller
12 - Quasar

You've done the most difficult bit already - building the base workflow!

Change the type of workflow to Analytic App from the Workflow tab on the configuration tool to change to an app. Now decide on what UI tools need to be applied. There is great help available on these within Alteryx. I'd start with the sample workflows (convert file formats) to see how to read in files depending on the user's choice of input.

2018-08-31_7-56-52.png

Chirag_Gandhi07
8 - Asteroid

Sounds good. Thanks for the help. Do I need to add file browse tools to the four output streams I have? So if another person inputs their desired files, would they be able to view all four sheets on one excel file like I have or would they require the data to be output to a specific location?

tcroberts
12 - Quasar