Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Calculating a YoY Change field for each Quarter at specific Level of Detail

paulwini
7 - Meteor

Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to Alteryx, and I was hoping for some guidance on a calculated field I would like to add to my workflow. I have an Excel dataset structured like so: Alteryx Sample.png

I would like to create a field that shows the YoY change in Count at the Product & Color level. Each Product & Color have only one row of data per Quarter. So for example: for Product = "Clothes" & Color = "Blue", the YoY Change for Quarter = "2020 Q4" would be -0.25 (calculated using (6-8)/8). I would like this field to be calculated for each row of data. I attached the sample data in this post. The format of the Quarter field is especially tripping me up in regard to how to point to the quarter of the previous year for each Product & Color.

Any assistance with this is greatly appreciated! Thank you,

Paul

13 REPLIES 13
apathetichell
18 - Pollux

does this work?

I usually do some datetime magic - but in this case I just took the year as a number and subtracted 1.

apathetichell
18 - Pollux

update to show a ratio - instead of a raw number.

atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @paulwini 

Here is how you can do it.

Workflow:

atcodedog05_0-1622096058637.png

1. Using sorting tool i am sorting by product & color on ascending so that each pair is grouped together. And sorting quarter by ascending so that its sorted as 2018 Q1, 2018 Q2....2019 Q1, 2019 Q2...

2. Using multi-row formula with grouby on product & color (so that YoY is calculated only for each product & color pair) I am calculating ([previous quarter:count]-[current quarter:count])/[previous quarter:count] (previous year is row-1 and currently quarter is row)

Hope this helps 🙂

paulwini
7 - Meteor