Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Calculate Proportional Data into Grid

huntermcg
5 - Atom

Hello!

I am trying to append zip code labor data to a 1 mile grid. I'd like to weight the data so some grids receive a higher value according to the population. 

Right now I am finding the percentage of the population the grid has relative to the zip code and using that percentage and multiplying it by my labor values. 

One problem is when a grid overlaps and touches two different zip codes. I am very new to Alteryx so my attached workflow may be the wrong way to go about this. 

The first "section" of tools is really just to normalize my data (which was really just a test for now and not needed). It is the 2nd and 3rd section that is tricky.

For reference I am putting the grid as a shapefile into Tableau to be visualized.

Thanks everyone for your help on this. Any advice would be very appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

It sounds like you're on the right track. I don't have time to build out an example, but here are a few things to think about:

- One way to ensure a single ZIP match for each grid would be to use a Spatial Info tool to assign a centroid to each grid. Then a Spatial Match could be used to match those grid centroids to ZIP polygons. 

- An alternate matching method would be to find the ZIP code that captures the greatest percent of land area of each grid and assign that grid to that ZIP code. Use the Spatial Match tool to output intersection objects and measure land area of each using the Spatial Info tool.