Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

CONVERT EXCEL NESTED IF TO ALTERYX

Caclark
5 - Atom

I am new to Alteryx and trying to convert this Excel formula into Alteryx using the multi row formula tool with no luck. Any assistance would be appreciated.

=IF(A2<>A1,IF((M2+K2)<=0,M2,IF((K2+M2)>0,K2*-1,0)),IF((K2+N2)<=0,IF((K2+N2)>0,K2*-1,N2),-K2))

8 REPLIES 8
hanykowska
11 - Bolide

Hi @Caclark 

First step for me is to unpick the excel formula into something easier to read

Before:

=IF(A2<>A1,IF((M2+K2)<=0,M2,IF((K2+M2)>0,K2*-1,0)),IF((K2+N2)<=0,IF((K2+N2)>0,K2*-1,N2),-K2))

Step 1:

=IF(A2<>A1,

IF(  (M2+K2)<=0,

M2,

IF((K2+M2)>0,

K2*-1,

0)

),

IF((K2+N2)<=0,

IF((K2+N2)>0,

K2*-1,

N2

),

-K2)

)

Step 2: change it to alteryx logic - let's assume this formula is for row 2 (less typing for now but could be adjusted)

IF [A] != [Row-1:A]

THEN 

IF [M] + [K] <= 0

THEN [M]

ELSEIF [M] + [K] > 0

THEN [K] * (-1)

ELSE 0

ENDIF

ELSEIF [K] + [N] <= 0

THEN [N]

ELSEIF [K] + [N] > 0

THEN [K] * (-1)

ELSE -[K]

ENDIF

This logic is quite convoluted so I tried to simplify it as I went, although you could try and simplify it even more.

In

IF((K2+N2)<=0,

IF((K2+N2)>0,

K2*-1,

N2

),

-K2)

You will never reach the highlighted section because if you pass K2+N2<=0 you will not pass K2+N2>0

further, the following section

ELSEIF [K] + [N] > 0
THEN [K] * (-1)
ELSE -[K]

could be simplified to ELSE -[K] 

Step 3: replace references to columns to the field names
(these might be wrong so you should double-check they are correct)

A - Payor ID

K - RESP_AMT

M - PotentialRefund

N - PotentialRemaining

It would be great if you could share the values you expect for the provided data

image.png

Ben_H