Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Breaking long strings into multiple rows based on character length column by whole words

alpro-23
7 - Meteor

Hi all, I am rather new to Alteryx and would like to seek help on this problem.

I have a column of comma-separated strings - some of which are really long. My objective is to parse them through an API that has a character limit. Hence, I need to break the comma-separated string into multiple rows with max. character limit.

Moreover, I would like to retain the whole word. Some of the methods I've tried would cut the word harshly while fitting into the character limit. 

I'm thinking this might require a multi-row formula. However, really not sure how I can do it. Would appreciate any help! 🙂

(I've also attached a snippet of the actual data I'm trying to work on, as a csv format. Note, it is in tamil language with encoding of utf-8 that would work!)

16 REPLIES 16
atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @alpro-23 

One of the way is you can break them into sentences per line by taking full stop as reference.

Workflow:

atcodedog05_0-1629358986215.png

Hope this helps : )

AngelosPachis
16 - Nebula

Hi @alpro-23 ,

You can probably make use of a regex tool, set to tokenize your string to the desired max character limit.

As you can see below, I've set the character limit to be 50 (the dot stands for any possible character). Of course you can change that to your API's character limit

AngelosPachis_1-1629359034501.png

and in my output, all strings have a length of 50.

AngelosPachis_0-1629358995601.png