Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Blending Data from different worksheets using a less complex workflow

Ren
5 - Atom

Hi everyone! 

I'm new to Alteryx and I am having some issues with blending data for a school project. I tried out the tutorials and sought help from Alteryx videos on Youtube but nothing prepared me for the situation I am facing. 

Here's a basic breakdown of the situation: 

I have two .xlsx files (as attached) each containing multiple worksheets.
I am trying to blend the following

From File "MAS...2012", Worksheet AG1: Cells B4 - D4, B11, and B16 - D16
From File "MAS...2012", Worksheet AG2: Cells B4 - K4, B25 - K25, B30 - K30, B31 - K31,  B36 - K36, B37 - K37, B42 - K42C67 - I67C68 - I68C74 - I74 
From File "Company Level Data...2012", Worksheet G4(Part 1): Cells B7 - B10C7 - J7, C8 - J8, C9 - J9C10 - J10

I am trying to achieve the exact presentation as set out in the file "Example". To do so, I created "Workflow 1". However, I was unable to achieve the presentation desired. Additionally, I do believe that the workflow is way too convoluted and complex,and a simplier one can be created. However, I am unsure as to how that can be achieved. 

Could I get some advice as to how I can achieve the exact presentation set out in "Example" using a simplier workflow? 

Thank You. 

3 REPLIES 3
RodL
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

So the power of Alteryx comes from being able to take your initial spreadsheet (that is essentially an Excel "report") and get it into some form that is usable from an analytics standpoint (in other words, nicely ordered data structure). Attached is a quick example of how that can work.