Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Automate backing up a table, deleting all rows and writing new info in order

ghbronner
5 - Atom

Hello,

I am truly struggling doing something I thought it would be rather simple in Alteryx, most likely because I am fairly new to the tool. 

I have a simple table in my db called trigger that I need to backup (append) to another table called trigger_backup, then delete all its records and then populate it with new data from a local file I have. All of this needs to happen in the same workflow.

Things I am struggling with:

-I don't know how to make Alteryx run the backup first, delete all records second, and write new info third. I need things to happen in this order.

-I don't know how to get Alteryx to delete all rows in a table. I've seen this: https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Data-Sources/Delete-database-records/td-p/39929, but the answer did not make sense to me or maybe I need a more step by step explanation.

-I don't know how to get Alteryx to append data to the trigger_backup table. It seems that when it writes back to a table, it tries to replace all its values (I am testing the output with .csv file).

In summary, this is what I have:

Trigger Table:

Column AColumn B
A_2017High

B_2017

High

C_2017

Low

Trigger_backup Table:

Column AColumn B
A_2016Low
B_2016Low

New Data File:

Column AColumn B
A_2018

Low

B_2018

High

C_2018

High

And this is what I need:

Trigger Table:

Column AColumn B
A_2018Low

B_2018

High

C_2018

High

Trigger_backup Table:

Column AColumn B
A_2016Low
B_2016Low
A_2017

High

B_2017High
C_2017Low

I'd appreciate any help that can come from this question.

Best,

ghbronner

4 REPLIES 4
fevizcaino
5 - Atom

Hello ghbronner,

Look the attached example and see if it fits your needs.