Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Append sheets from 2 or more excel files

Stoneage8988
6 - Meteoroid

Hello,

I am quite new to Alteryx and I have one quick question about how to merge different sheets from different excel files.

Basically now I have 2 excel files, file A contains sheet 1 and 2, file B contains sheet 3 and 4.  Expectation is to move just sheet 3 to file A, so in the end file A has sheets 1 2 and 3,  and file B has only sheet 4 left.    This step in excel would be to move sheet 3 to file A without creating a copy. 

Can anyone kindly let me know what tools should be used to perform this step ?  Thanks a lot. 

6 REPLIES 6
DavidP
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Alteryx can read data from specific sheets in Excel files via the Input data tool and write data to existing sheets or create new sheets via the Output Data tool, but it doesn't have functionality to delete sheets from a file.

You could therefore read sheet 3 from file A specifying the full path and sheetname, such as "C:\Users\davidp\Downloads\file B.xlsx|||Sheet3$" in the Input Data tool, and write it to file A with the path "C:\Users\davidp\Downloads\file A.xlsx|||Sheet3$"

Stoneage8988
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks for your reply David. 

If I understand correctly,  below you meant to split 2 sheets in 1 file right?  Is there a way to to  append sheet 3 from file B together with sheet 1 and 2 in file A?   like can be seen below, output file in the end has sheet 1 2 3,  and the other file has sheet 4 only. 

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

DavidP
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Look at below:  Sheet 3 is loaded from file B and written to file A as a new sheet in addition to Sheet 1 and 2 that already exist.

In the output options you can choose to: