Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Analytic App - Transform text box input value

nsmith293
7 - Meteor

Hello,

I'm new to a lot of this, so I'm sure I've missed this simple answer but....

I have a text box input for an app.  The user will enter comma-separated values like this:

apple,pear,orange

This input will pass as a parameter to a sql statement, so I need it to be passed as:

'APPLE','PEAR','ORANGE'

I know this function will do the trick as far as changing the value, but I don't see how to pass it as the parameter using a "replace string" approach in the Action tool:

"'"+replace(uppercase([text_box_value]),",","','")+"'"

Any advice on how to transform/massage a text box input being passed a sql statement parameter would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
nsmith293
7 - Meteor

Soon after posting this I thought of a work-around (or maybe it's the intended approach).

My original approach was trying this:

Text Box--> Action --> Input Oracle OCI Sql --> Output to Excel

The solution that worked was:

Text Box --> Action --> Input Text --> Formula --> Dynamic Input --> Output to Excel

Still seems like I should be able to pass a transformed input value as a parameter into my sql statement using my first approach, but the second approach does appear to work in a straightforward manner.

Thanks.

SeanAdams
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

:-) you should give yourself credit for the solution! (and mark this as solved)

Have a good week

Sean

patrick_digan
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

@nsmith293 I think you could do something like this if you wanted to stick with an action tool (update with formula) and an input tool setup: