community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.
Upgrade Alteryx Designer in 10 Steps

Debating whether or not to upgrade to the latest version of Alteryx Designer?

LEARN MORE

An attempt at building an offline OSM geocoder

Alteryx Partner

Hello,

I'm still a relatively novice users.

As many of you know, openstreetmap is a free mapping service that offers both map layers and geocoding services (through its nominatim web services).

Although free, the drawback is that you cannot do bulk geocoding from it as it would overload the servers and get you banned.

As commercial alternatives can get very expensive pretty fast, an alternative would be to install a nominatim instance on a web server but that requires non-trivial IT support.

Luckily, Openstreetmap data is available for download at https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Planet.osm#Processing_the_File

OSM files are basically a kind of XML and this starts our journey at data exploration...

workflow.png

As you can see, opening the file as XML does result in coherent data being read (in my case I'm using the Italian osm dataset).

From what I found so far the tag_*_k fields are what's represented in latitude and longitude, using contains("city") or contains("addr") gives you some addresses although with kinda messy formatting.

As the source file is pretty big, it's strongly advised to use partial reads for initial data exploration.

Has anyone here attempted anything similar?

This topic will be updated with any further progress I will be able to make.

Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @marco_zara

This is an awesome idea, I am looking forward to hearing more!