Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Alteryx freezes randomly with simple workflow

darindavis
6 - Meteoroid

I'm new to Alteryx, testing with the 14-day trial.  At a half-day workshop I attended last week, I downloaded Alteryx v2018.1.3.42973 and followed along with two simple exercises.  Repeatedly and randomly, when I would click on something, Alteryx would freeze and take 1-2 minutes to recover.  I'm trying to build a simple workflow on my own now and it continues to freeze.

I have the x64 version of Alteryx installed on my Dell 7510 laptop, Win 7 Pro 64-bit, Intel Core i7 @ 2.7GHz, 32GB RAM.

Does Alteryx have to be installed / run with admin privileges?

What am I missing that results in these freezes?

Thanks,
Darin

21 REPLIES 21
CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

@darindavis

The most likely scenario is that these freezes are a result of the Auto Configiration/Initialization feature. This feature essentially runs a 0 records through the tools every time something is changes so downstream tools reflect changes made while working.

To see if this is the issue, go to Options>User Settings>Edit User Settings>Advanced and check the box to "Disable Auto Configure". When this is disabled, fields will not automatically be populated in newly connected tools, so you'll need to run the module or manually refresh (F5) when modifying tools. 

It's also a good idea to keep workflows and data as lean as possible for the best performance. Here's a great post with tips on workflow efficiency:

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Knowledge-Base/Tips-amp-Tricks-2016-Workflow-Optimization/t...

darindavis
6 - Meteoroid