Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Alteryx Finance Questions!

NadiaFS
7 - Meteor

Hi Alteryx family

I am new to Alteryx and have been scrolling through the Community which as been super helpful so far.

I am trying to do the following steps but am getting stuck:

1. Extract data for Balance Sheet and Income Statement from Specific Columns (a large consolidated report with 1000 companies, we only require 30 of them for our reporting)

2. Create Separate Tabs in one Workbook with Relevant Output (for Balance Sheet (BS) and Income Statement (IS))

3. Add New Rows into Relevant output for BS and IS Adjustments

4. Maintain source Formatting and Formulas 

5. Perform checks back to Source data once final output complete. 

Below are the areas I am getting stuck: 

1. In my 'Output file' most of the Descriptions are summarised correctly into one tab with the relevant balance, however Alteryx seems to be putting anything split by '- Intercompany' or  '-third party' (in the Description Column) in its own Separate tab.  

The Descriptions for Row 2 and 3 have a space followed by a hyphen then 'intercompany' or 'third party' - Alteryx picks up all the Columns correctly in my output, but skips all the '-intercompany' and '-third party' splits and puts them into Separate tabs, so I have about 40 lines split into separate tabs and then my remaining 1,900 lines sitting in my main tab. I am not sure if I clicked a setting to do this or this is automatic from Alteryx as a delimiter.

Using the 'Select' took I have the Description type as 'V_string' - I am not sure if this is correct, or what Type we should use for Text.   

3. - Once the data has been extracted correctly using the 'Select' tool, how do we

a. add in new Columns; and

b. Add formulas to these new columns; or