Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Adjusting rows of data to columns to prep data

ameynder
6 - Meteoroid

I am new to the alteryx discussion boards.  I am trying to adjust data.  I have seen other question/answers that solve a portion of my issue, but not completely.

I am trying to get data like this:

clipboard_image_0.png  

To look like this:

clipboard_image_1.png

Thank you for helping

14 REPLIES 14
JosephSerpis
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @ameynder I mocked up a workflow that I think answers your question. I have commented my workflow as much as possible to explain what I have done. Are you able to provide any sample excel in order to test? 

ameynder
6 - Meteoroid
Here is the sample in excel.
JosephSerpis
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @ameynder I used your sample data and seems to produce the output you describe. Let me know what you think?

ameynder
6 - Meteoroid
Hi @JS420, I am working to get a more robust data set for you. I will post it soon. It will help test the workflow on more realistic data.
estherb47
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @ameynder 

Here's a solution that uses mostly the Favorites tools.

image.png

Basic logic here is to separate out the multiple column headers, and then join the data back together. The first row grabs the Area headings, transposes them to rows, and fills in blanks with a Multi Row formula tool. Then I added an Area Order field to help with sorting later.

Next grab the Function headings (the second Select records tool). Transpose again, and add a field for ordering.