Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Adding date to file name

MRPP
6 - Meteoroid

Hello Community !

I am a beginner level Alteryx user tryin to add today's date to output (.xlsx) file name. I did go through few posts but all of them, do run and produce output, but when I try to open get an error message that the file is corrupt, etc. Alternatively, suppose I have 6 files in a folder, say: File_1, File_2 .... File_6, is there a way to Alteryx would be able to add today's date as (say, for ex:) File_1 25-May-2022.xlsx etc.? Any help is welcome !

4 REPLIES 4
Sebastiaandb
12 - Quasar

Hi @MRPP ,

This should help you out :-D!

Make sure to change the paths in the input and formula tool :-).

Sebastiaandb_0-1653478549771.png

Greetings,

Seb

MRPP
6 - Meteoroid

Thank you Seb, but the output I get is an excel with only one column with dates, maybe I am missing something. Like I said, I am still novice trying my best to grasp. Sorry, if what I missed is simple !

I did change the path to input, but wasn't sure how (or what) to change in the formula tool.

If you could add bit more detailed steps.

Thanks in advance !

OllieClarke
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hey @MRPP 

Here's basically the same approach as @Sebastiaandb but broken down.

OllieClarke_0-1653554474539.png

Firstly, when you input your file, make sure to output the full path as a field

OllieClarke_2-1653554526373.png

This will add a column to your data called FileName, which will be the location of the file, its name and the sheet you're reading in

OllieClarke_3-1653554563694.png

We can use the text to columns tool to split this field based on the repeated pipes which separate the file from the sheet. Change your delimiter to |, and tick the skip empty columns option.

OllieClarke_4-1653554618421.png

Now we've got our sheet and file as separate fields:

OllieClarke_5-1653554688709.png