Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

yxmd Files Alteryx

varun511
7 - Meteor

HI,

i am very new to Alteryx can anyone give me some idea about YXMD   files in Alteryx

got one yxmd file which need to publish to alteryx server but all input and output files stores inside folders will it work in  server?

do i need to change any settings?  

3 REPLIES 3
DataNath
17 - Castor

If you need to keep the inputs etc with the workflow then you’ll likely want to package it before putting it on server. More info here: https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Server-Knowledge-Base/Assets-and-Packaging-Workflows/ta-p/4...

Luke_C
17 - Castor

To add to @DataNath 's point, I'd suggest thinking about what you need the workflow to achieve. You can definitely package your input files to be posted along with the workflow, but they will be static. Typically when I think of deploying something on the Gallery it would be something where users can change the inputs or have the input be dynamic in nature.

rfoster7
9 - Comet

That can be complicated and vary from setup to setup. 

The Gallery cannot access files stored on your personal computer. However, if they are stored on a share drive somewhere, and the account that the Alteryx Gallery is running as has access to that share drive, then it should be able to access the files on the share drive. 

In that case you may have to use the ip address and full share drive name rather than using a mapped network share you may have an your computer. so instead of something like x:\fileshare\file.xlsx, you will name to have something like \\10.155.155.155\fileshare\file.xlsx. That depends on how yours is set up.