Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Time Series Models (ETS|ARIMA) - Adding more variables than just Period and Amount

Elena_P
6 - Meteoroid

Hi all, I'm new to the Time Series Models in Alteryx but since I'm working on a project for Cashflow Forecasting and for the purposes of the analysis they want to have the forecasted values within the output of ETS/ARIMA not only per period, but per Period, Account, Flow and Budget codes as in the screenshots below. Not sure if this is possible, but can we somehow add other variables to the Model or is there another workaround/suggestion in order to achieve this?

Thank you in advance!

Elena_P_0-1643651164885.png

Elena_P_1-1643651454786.png

5 REPLIES 5
gabrielvilella
14 - Magnetar

Hi @Elena_P, only ARIMA will let you use covariates on the model, by the nature of it. There is a checkbox you can enable on the ARIMA configuration area. I will leave here a few useful articles on this topic:

Elena_P
6 - Meteoroid

@gabrielvilella , thank you a lot for the provided information and the articles! They really helped and I managed to add covariates to the model. I have two more questions:
- Do you perhaps know if there is a limitation on the number covariates we can use within the ARIMA model? As if I add 2 it works, but if I add 3, I get errors..

- Within the output is it possible to add the covariates next to the Period, Sub_Period and the forecasted values? As for the purposes of the analysis they need this information, only period and amount are not going to be sufficient.

Thank you in advance for the help!

gabrielvilella
14 - Magnetar

I am not aware of a limitation on the number of covariates. Maybe there is something wrong with your third covariate, you can verify this by adding just this field as covariate, for instance.