Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Running Batch Macro on Multiple files from a folder

StockMarket
8 - Asteroid

I have gone through many example batch macro threads here, but since I am new to Alteryx, therefor I am finding it a bit complicated to execute correctly in my case. Specially the part where we have to create the "Control Parameter Step" and update it with new file names, so that the process can be repeated on multiple files. I am having trouble trying to find the best way to create a batch macro which will work in my case, so any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I have to run this workflow on csv data files, which are quite large, having around 4 million rows per csv file and I have to run this flow onto hundreds of such files present within the same folder. The good news is that all these files have the exact same structure and format and a constant schema throughout. So this should reduce the complexity of the batch macro, otherwise some examples of batch macros were looking very complex and hard to understand to me.

I need to make sure that the complete workflow runs on the FIRST CSV FILE and generate the required output files, then the complete workflow runs on the SECOND CSV FILE and generate the required output files and this process continues, till the VERY LAST CSV FILE is processed in the given folder. All csv files are located in this same folder - "C:\Data\Batch Macro Sample Data".

I cannot first import all the csv files into a big table and then run the workflow. It has to be done, ONE FILE AT A TIME, separately and keep on repeating, one after the other, till all the files have been processed in that folder.