Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Error for Macro related to extract data from different folders with same identifier

Tinafu
5 - Atom

Hi team, 

I'm a new Alteryx designer. There is one error I met as pics need your help. My Alteryx version is 2022.3.1

My request is to extract data in a specific sheet from different folders, I knew there was the better way can do it for my situation, but there is a problem I cannot solve. The pic is the part of my flow, and I can run the whole flow with the macro before, but now the macro cannot be active. I have no idea for the situation.

For 1st picture, it displays an error, and I selected "view">>"interface designer">>"Auto Configure by Name"

Picture1.png

And then it also displays error as 2nd pics different like the 1st one." You have found a bug. The pipe has been ended"

Picture2.png

For my flow:

Directory tool to get the file name and add formula tool to add the sheet name, for the two steps, I can run successfully. When I run the flow with the macro, it is wrong. The third pic is the configuration of macro. 

Picture3.png

Could you all give some suggestions for the flow?  I closed AMP engine, and it also cannot run now. Thank you in advance.

3 REPLIES 3
Qiu
21 - Polaris
21 - Polaris

@Tinafu 
First of all, we should the Macro Input tool instead of the "Data Input" tool in the macro, I think.

apathetichell
19 - Altair

Open the macro - go to interface designer.

click on auto configure by name. save. 

o.k. - you fixed that. Here's the deal - you need to have that sheet and that range in your file. If not - it will not work. Can you share a better shot of your action tool in your macro? What are you updating and are you leaving a sheet? If you create a sheet/range in your outerworkflow and pass that in - you must replace it in your input data. Otherwise you would end up with: