Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

A field was missing a closing quote in record xxx - Tab Delimited File

EvolveKev
8 - Asteroid

Hi everyone!

I've looked around but I can't seem to find what I want - I'm close (but no cigar). Oh, go easy on me - I am an absolute noob.

I'm trying to import a 71 field .txt file. The data doesn't have headers (which is okay since I can union it with a separate header file), and it is in a tab-delimited format. 

Upon import I get the error message, "a field was missing a closing quote in record 51130." My conclusion, one of those 71 fields in row 51130 has a quote and is causing problems.

My challenge is how to remove that quote from that row?  

I've tried importing the file and removing the columns (\0) and then using the text-to-columns function to re-assemble the file structure, but I'm not sure what kind of delimiter to use to separate things back out (I was going off another example here in the forums). Maybe that's not the right way to go. 

Any ideas?

8 REPLIES 8
Claje
14 - Magnetar

I'm making an assumption that there are no tab characters in your txt file which are INSIDE of an existing field.

As such, can you try changing Option 9 in the Input Data Configuration from "Ignore Delimiters in Quotes" to "Ignore Delimiters in None" and see what happens?

What is likely happening here is Alteryx is seeing the opening quote, and then never sees a closing quote, so it thinks everything after this quote character is part of the same field, causing your error.