Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alter.Nation

Community news, customer stories, and more!
rockyw9
8 - Asteroid

Alteryx Core Certification can seem overwhelming at first if you don't prioritize your learning path. I recently studied for and passed the Core Certification exam in just a few short weeks and wanted to share some tips that worked well for me. If you are new to using Designer or are looking to take the exam soon, consider using this guide as a reference for your studies. I also encourage other Core Certified members to share their own experiences because what worked for me may not necessarily work for everyone else.

First, a little background about myself: I recently graduated in 2020 with a degree in Electrical Engineering. I currently work full-time as a project engineer at an engineering service company. To be a bit more concise, I did not have a whole lot of experience with data as a baseline. Before learning Alteryx, I took several online courses in Python and SQL. I also have some C++ experience from my studies prior to graduating. These are by no means “prerequisites” for the Alteryx Core Certification. However, my exposure to at least some of the fundamentals of data processing and manipulation while learning SQL helped me learn some of the Alteryx content more easily. 

Now, without further ado - here is my Core Certification Guide.

• Getting Started Leaning Path (General)
    • Read all available links
    • Engage with all of the interactive learnings (even if you think you already know it)
    • Read all of the Tool Mastery guides
    • Try all of the "Try It" sections