Alter.Nation

Community news, customer stories, and more!
MeganBowers
Alteryx Community Team
Alteryx Community Team

Nicola Woodhouse (1).png

Today’s ACE spotlight is @PuffinPanic! Keep reading to learn more about Nicola and what makes her a unique Alteryx super user.

Tell us a bit about your professional background.

I completed an MSc in computer science and started working in the IT industry in the late 1990s, but I didn't work there for very long before taking a career break while my children were young. Rather than returning to IT as the children grew, I became a teaching assistant in a primary school where, for 10 years, I worked with children between the ages of 3 and 11. For the last 6 years of this, I took responsibility for data management within the Nursery class (ages 3 & 4), which allowed me to work my way back towards an IT career.

As my children grew and no longer needed my constant support, I started looking for a job in the data industry, and in June 2019, I joined a company to work with their NHS Supply Chain contract team as a data administrator. This role evolved into being their Data and Reporting Manager in December 2019 managing a small team and led to achieving my Chartered Manager status in 2022.

Between 2019 and 2023 my work revolved around supporting the Category teams, developing and automating their data handling. I started using Alteryx early in 2020 to resolve some data issues relating to a large tender and quickly realized that Alteryx could be used to develop reporting and automate manual processes to improve team performance.

In 2023, NHS Supply Chain insourced most of its externally managed contracts, and since then, I have been working on automation of data handling for a much larger team, as well as creating and running our internal Alteryx user group and delivering training and support to our Alteryx users.

What is your favorite Alteryx tool, and why?