Alter.Nation

Community news, customer stories, and more!
MeganDibble
Alteryx Community Team
Alteryx Community Team

MeganDibble_4-1660670535397.png

Today’s ACE spotlight is @DawnDuong! Keep reading to learn more about Dawn and what makes her a unique Alteryx super user.

Tell us a bit about your professional background. 

My professional background is a bit of a meander and definitely eclectic. I studied Electrical and Electronic Engineering for my Undergraduate degree. Initially, I wanted to pursue a Ph.D. in Engineering but changed my mind after about two years of doing research at the University. I ventured into Business Development, then switched to Professional Services, which took me to Valuation of derivatives and loan portfolios, and then to M&A due diligence, which I am still doing today. Along the way, I picked up an M.Sc in Financial Engineering, more linguistic skills, and of course, got to know Alteryx, which I still love today.

What is one fun thing about you that community members might not know? 

I speak four languages (with various levels of proficiency). I also enjoy hiking! Here are two of my favorite photos:

MeganDibble_5-1660670536051.png

MeganDibble_6-1660670538511.png

What is your favorite Alteryx tool, and why? 

Definitely the Join tool. My work involves a lot of data blending and reconciliations, and the Join tool makes it much more efficient and easier.

What has been your favorite Alteryx project? 

I have used Alteryx in almost every work project in the last >5 years or so, mostly in M&A due diligence, and each project has a special memory. If I had to choose one most interesting project, I’d probably select one particular due diligence case where I used Alteryx extensively to construct the full accrual-based financials from bank statements. Unfortunately, I cannot share more details as this involves client-confidential data.

What is your favorite Alteryx memory?