Alter.Nation

Community news, customer stories, and more!
MeganDibble
Alteryx Community Team
Alteryx Community Team

MeganDibble_4-1662484771016.png

Today’s ACE spotlight is @mceleavey! Keep reading to learn more about Chris and what makes him a unique Alteryx super user.

Tell us a bit about your professional background. 

I am a founding partner and technical lead in Bulien. I formerly worked as Lead Solutions Architect and a Senior Business Intelligence Consultant for another tech company focusing on Qlik Sense, QlikView, Power BI, etc. Prior to that, I was an ERP Business Consultant. I've been working with Alteryx since 2014/2015.

What is one fun thing about you that community members might not know? 

I wrote a terrible novel, I play drums (badly), I make my own wine and beer (both horrific), I used to have pet rats, and I have a black belt in Shotokhan Karate. I was also once stabbed a bit.

What is your favorite Alteryx tool, and why? 

I'm going to give some love to the Sample tool. It has so many uses, and I use it all the time. Also, my previous favorite, the Download tool, has many issues, and since it turned to drugs and is frequently found wandering the streets at 3 am singing inappropriate songs,

I'm going with the clean-cut, reliable Sample tool.

MeganDibble_2-1662484755007.png

What has been your favorite Alteryx project? 

Probably the Petco project, for which @Jeff_Neklason won the Disruptor award. It involved multi-chained apps which required "dynamic-hardcoding." Yes. Dynamic Hardcoding. Go read my blog.

What is your favorite Alteryx memory? 

Without doubt my first Inspire as an ACE in Denver, Colorado. Meeting all the ACEs and getting to know them in person was amazing. I also thoroughly enjoyed beating @JarrodT at poker. And by “beating” I mean “humiliating”. It was brutal. I don’t think he’s recovered.

What advice do you have for new community members?