Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alter.Nation

Community news, customer stories, and more!
smoskowitz
12 - Quasar

Way back in 2017, I was sitting at my desk when the Senior Director of Tax was just coming back from a Tax Conference. You know the Tax Conferences - where they discuss rule and section changes and how it affects corporation. However, this Tax conference was a little different. As a matter of fact, I think I would have liked to have attended this particular one.

As the Tax Director walked by, he handed me a sheet of paper. On this sheet of paper were three tools that he wanted me to investigate, one of those tools was Alteryx.

I am a Senior Business Analyst at the Interpublic Group. I technically report to Information Technology (IT), but am solely dedicated to Corporate Tax. So anytime there is some new software to look at, I am usually all over it.

However, over the years, I have come across lots of software with big promises and little on the delivery. Sometimes you take a calculated risk in hope of a home run, but mostly I pass.

But this was Alteryx! Wait, what is Alteryx again?

1Input.png

The First Steps -- You Want Me to Do What With Alteryx?

I am not going to describe what you probably want to hear at this point, there was nothing game-changing in the first few weeks. However, that does not mean I wasn’t challenged. I was given small projects to do in Alteryx as opposed to my go-to software -- Excel.