Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

TS Model Factory ETS forecasts

LLebed
6 - Meteoroid

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to predictive analytics of Alteryx. As a new person i read that it would be wise to try and use the already pre-made models in Alteryx instead of trying to create my own. Currently using ver 10.5

I am trying to forecast sales by store by week using historical sales data. In order to do that i am using a TS Model Factory that i have obtained from one of the topics on this forum. Arima model appears to get generated correctly with reasonable WoW difference, however ETS model just gives me the same forecast for all of the periods.

In the TS Factory Sample flow however, ETS model generates different figures for different periods. 

Can someone advise on what is wrong with my data for ETS model or settings?

I could not locate a similar topic via google...

Thanks

edit: i think i found where the issue might be.... the ETS model on its' own appears to generate different figures when I have Model type -> Trend Type selected as Multiplicative, however when set on Auto it generates a straight line. What would be a best way to alter Model Factory so that it works on Multiplicative and not Auto?

6 REPLIES 6
AmeliaG
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @LLebed,

Thanks for your question! The model factory tool does not have this functionality built in, but you can edit the underlying macro by right clicking on the tool and selecting 'open macro'. 

openmacro.png

Within the macro, the code powering the model is in the 'R' tool. 

rtool.png

You can edit and update the code for the ETS model (perhaps update the macro interface as well) and save your changes. Note: you can open up the regular ETS model tool as well and see the code inside.