Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

How to perform multifield validation and with different conditions

leotai
5 - Atom

Hi there, 

I am new to alteryx and got a situation that would love to hear suggestions from the community.

Let's say I need to validate the data in my alteryx workflow as below:

condition 1: If field_A  = X, then field_x, field_y cannot be null

condition 2: If field_A = Y, then field_x, field_z cannot be null

condition 3: If field_A  = X, then field_1, field_2 cannot be null

I have around 100 conditions in total. These conditions are not mutually exclusive, some records do fit into multiple conditions.

I thought the multiple fields formula might be helpful, but that might result in ~100 nodes in the workflow if I input one condition in each of the node.

The result I am looking for is to add a new column with the validation result.

"Mandatory field Check" 

----------------------------------

row 1 "field x is missing, field y is missing,"

row 2 "field z is missing,"

row 3 " "

row 4 "field x is missing,"

4 REPLIES 4
ShankerV
17 - Castor
ShankerV
17 - Castor

Hi @leotai 

I am trying to build some solution which will work for you. Struck in inputting the data.

ShankerV_0-1671520941399.png

Can you please share the sample input data and sample condition and sample output.

So that you can apply the same on your huge dataset.

Many thanks

Shanker V

Hongsen_T
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @leotai ,

Agree with @ShankerV , some sample inputs + expected outputs would go a long way to help the Community understand this better!

But in the meantime, if I just base it off your initial sharing, there may not be a need to pull in 100s of tools - a simple Formula Tool might do the trick (though you do need to write out the logic to tell the platform what you need). Attached a simple mockup just to give a flavor.